Raising the awareness of the beauty of the harp through education, performance and new music

Board of Trustees

Elizabeth Hainen, Chair and Director

Principal Harp, The Philadelphia Orchestra
Faculty, The Curtis Institute of Music and Temple University

Robert Schwartz, President

President, Co-Founder & Executive Director Emeritus, Juvenile Law Center
Chair of Advisory Committee to the Children’s Rights Division of Human Rights Watch
2003-2012, Chair of Board of the Philadelphia Youth Network

Martin Marcinczyk

VP of Business Development, Comcast

Susan S. Gould

Assistant VP of Development for The Free Library of Philadelphia

Khalil Meggett

CPA, Meggett Consulting, LLC
Formerly COO with John Milligan, (JMCPA)
Currently on the Board of Directors for CASA Philadelphia County

Paul Arnold

Violinist, Lorraine and David Popowich Chair, The Philadelphia Orchestra
Overseer to the Board of Directors, Curtis Institute of Music

Anna Marie Ahn Petersen

Violist, The Philadelphia Orchestra

Alexandra Gort

Public Relations for BELFOR Property Restoration
Formerly PR Account Executive with Cashman & Associates

Jonathan Stiles

Marketing Manager, Pennsylvania Ballet
Former Company Dancer



In addition to its Board of Directors, The Lyra Society is also fortunate to have a small group of honorary board members. These honorary board members, who support the Lyra Society’s mission, generously serve as informal advisors to the Board and The Lyra Society’s leadership team.

Peter Benoliel, Co-Chairperson
Carole Haas Gravagno, Co-Chairperson
Joshua Bell, Concert Violinist
Tan Dun, Composer
Christoph Eschenbach, Conductor
Joe Kluger, Principal at WolfBrown
Jan Krzywicki, Composer
Philip Maneval, Composer
Susann McDonald, Indiana University Distinguished Professor of Harp
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Conductor
R. Murray Schafer, Composer